Skip to content

Gods, Past Lives & Self-Reflection: Family Camping Part Deux

July 18, 2013

I was reading about God,
and grabbed another drink.

Well, that’s camping with family for you, isn’t it? Or just the usual inquiring, seeking, drinking soul along the path…

On day four, I traded God for Catherine and past lives. I read over a hundred pages about Job, Shankara and Rumi, but I am overruling my want to finish things for to move onto another area of interest. I’ve never put any thought into past lives to be honest, but Weiss’ book is very empirical and very convincing. I finished the book in a day and a half.

Feeling my usual difference from my own family, lacking tolerance more for my kin than others (I pray this is just human nature!), I am really appreciating reconnecting with the Smiths and PJs.

Good People. You feel it and know it when in their presence.

Bacon God rises in the mornings here in the form of wafts and waves, and my dad moves everything around as if his castle or his own home. It is a second, summer abode for all of us, and some habits will never cease. There is an area for empties near the table, next to my parents’ tent, next to the creek. I bought a six-pack of beer yesterday, and put the first empty back into the cardboard box. I go to put my next empty away and dad has moved my beer bottle to another box with my niece’s gluten-free beer bottles and put some unopened Mike’s Hard Lemonades in my beer’s box. I put my day bag on the table bench long before breakfast or anyone using the table and I return from the bathroom to see my bag placed on a chair off to the side. Three times he has also moved my dry food bag. It is frustrating – I interpret it as controlling, having to have a hand in everything. I am like him in so many ways, and like things to be a certain way also, so I recognize I need to care less about these little things and learn to let things and people be more.

Self-trust and confident decision-making have turned out to be somewhat elusive, essential tools for me. Growing up, I too often sought my dad’s, and others’, advice. Now, after all the years of his double-checking, always going over things again after I or others locked the house or car door, or shut off the lights or stove, I am today still filled with -but fight- the sense that how or what I have done is insufficient or requires overseeing. My own issues, that I have carried forward, but are ever slowly dissolving.

I remember one time after my grandparents had visited, my mom stated, “I love my parents, but a weekend with them at a time is enough!” As we grow older, we become both more and less like our parents (a case in point for unity of opposites!). As long as we strive to be positive and authentic and have love be our primary action, then we and our interrelated world of family, friends, life, love and outdoors will only get better and better. At times this can mean a lot of effort, but it makes sense, and we’re all worth the effort.

Books referenced:
God: A Story of Revelation by Deepak Chopra

Many Lives, Many Masters: The True Story of a Prominent Psychiatrist, His Young Patient, and the Past-Life Therapy That Changed Both Their Lives by Brian L. Weiss, M.D.

From → 2013 Summer

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

